Is Magnesium Citrate Gluten Free

Is Magnesium Citrate Gluten Free

Magnesium Citrate is the Magnesium salt of Citric Acid, available as white or slight yellow powder. It’s widely used as acidity regulator and preservative in food and beverage for its acidic taste.

Is Magnesium Citrate gluten free?

Yes. Magnesium Citrate is gluten free and widely used in gluten free food to provide fresh acidic taste to soft drinks.

Why is Magnesium Citrate gluten free?

To answer this question, we need to clarify another question: what is gluten. Gluten is protein composite found in wheat and related grains, including barley and rye. (Wikipedia) First, gluten is a protein. Second, gluten is mainly found in wheat and related grains. As we mentioned before, Magnesium Citrateis a citrate salt which is significantly different from protein. Raw materials used in manufacturing of Magnesium Citrate are magnesium hydroxide and citric acid; Magnesium Citrate barely includes gluten impurity. So, Magnesium Citrate is gluten free.

How is Magnesium Citrate used in gluten free food?

Magnesium Citrate is widely used in food and beverage to provide fresh acidic taste to soft drinks. Magnesium Citrate is usually used in processed food rather than daily recipe.

Why should you go Gluten free?

Celiac disease: Celiac disease is an autoimmune disease that attacks the small intestine due to the presence of gluten, for which a gluten-free diet is the only medically-accepted treatment. In 2009 research showed between 0.5 and 1.0 percent of people in the US and UK are sensitive to gluten due to celiac disease. So people with Celiac disease have to stick to gluten free diet to avoid unexpected side effect caused by consumption of gluten.

Non-celiac gluten sensitivity: Some people may be sensitive to gluten but do not have celiac disease and feel better on a diet with less gluten. However, there are no specific symptoms confirmed. Non-celiac gluten sensitivity also drives more people to gluten free diet when people believe that they feel better when eating gluten free.

As Magnesium Citrate Nonahydrate suppliers, Foodchem has been supplying gluten free Magnesium Citrate for over 10 years. Feel free to contact us if you need gluten free Magnesium Citrate. Email: Tel: +86-21-2206-3075.