Halal Certified Caramel

Halal is an Arabic word means lawful or permitted. It is always mentioned along with Haraam which means sinful or prohibited by Allah. At the same time, you will also be able to find another related term in Islamic food, mushbooh which means doubtful or suspect as it is unclear whether they are Halal or Haraam. For mushbooh food, the products’ source and manufacturing process need to be audited to decide whether it’s halal or haraam.


Caramel , CAS# 1343-75-5 , is a water soluble food coloring manufactured through heat treatment of a variety of sugars, available as Dark brown black powder. Caramel Color is widely used as colouring agent and flavour enhancer. It is affirmed by US FDA as GRAS(generally recognized as safe) and widely accepted as safe food additive in many countries with E number E150(a-d).

Caramel is general recognized as halal. We will still audit another 2 key points to make sure that our Caramel is 100% halal: Are there any pig products used in manufacturing process of this ingredient? Does the ingredient contain Alcohol (impure) or other haraam ingredients?

This application file is based on limited review of Foodchem International Corporation. Caramel one of the popular food additives and ingredients in most countries, As a professional Caramel suppliers, Foodchem International Corporation has been supplying and exporting Caramel from China for almost 10 years, please be assured to buy Caramel at Foodchem. Any inquiries and problems please feel free to send emails to us Email: inquiry@foodchem.cn. Tel: +86-21-2206-3075.we will reply you within 1 working day.