Halal Certified Pepsin

Halal is an Arabic word means lawful or permitted. It is always mentioned along with Haraam which means sinful or prohibited by Allah. At the same time, you will also be able to find another related term in Islamic food, mushbooh which means doubtful or suspect as it is unclear whether they are Halal or Haraam. For mushbooh food, the products’ source and manufacturing process need to be audited to decide whether it’s halal or haraam.


Pepsin is a digestive enzyme; it is extracted from Pepsinogen under PH 1.5-5.0 and the pepsinogen is secreted by the stomach cell.Pepsin can decompose the solidified proteins into peptone by effect of stomach acid, but it can not go any further to amino acid.It is widely used for the dyspepsia caused by over taking proteinic foods and lack of stomach proteinase caused by digestive hypofunction in the recovering period. It also has effect on curing chronic of atronic of atrophic gastritis, gastric,gastric cancer and malignant anaemia.

Pepsin is general recognized as halal. We will still audit another 2 key points to make sure that our Pepsin is 100% halal: Are there any pig products used in manufacturing process of this ingredient? Does the ingredient contain Alcohol (impure) or other haraam ingredients?

This application file is based on limited review of Foodchem International Corporation. Pepsin one of the popular food additives and ingredients in most countries, As a professional Pepsin suppliers, Foodchem International Corporation has been supplying and exporting Pepsin from China for almost 10 years, please be assured to buy Pepsin at Foodchem. Any inquiries and problems please feel free to send emails to us inquiry@foodchem.cn , we will reply you within 1 working day.