Is Magnesium Stearate Gluten Free

Magnesium stearate is often used as an anti-adherent in the manufacture of medical tablets, capsules and powders. In this regard, the substance is also useful, because it has lubricating properties, preventing ingredients from sticking to manufacturing equipment during the compression of chemical powders into solid tablets; As a food additive or pharmaceutical excipient, its E number is E470b. Magnesium stearate is also used to bind sugar in hard candies like mints, and is a common ingredient in baby formulas. Magnesium stearate is manufactured from both animal and vegetable oils. Some nutritional supplements specify that the magnesium stearate used is sourced from vegetables.

Is Magnesium Stearate gluten free?

Magnesium Stearate is gluten free and widely used in gluten free food to provide to .

Why is Magnesium Stearate gluten free?

 Magnesium Stearate(Hydroxyethyledene Diphosphonic Acid) is used as scale and corrosion inhibition in circulating cool water system, oil field and low-pressure boilers in fields such as electric power, chemical industry, metallurgy, fertilizer, etc.. In light woven industry, Magnesium Stearate is used as detergent for metal and nonmetal. In dyeing industry, Magnesium Stearate is used as peroxide stabilizer and dye-fixing agent; In non-cyanide electroplating, Magnesium Stearate is used as chelating agent. The dosage of 1-10mg/L is preferred as scale inhibitor, 10-50mg/L as corrosion inhibitor, and 1000-2000mg/L as detergent. Usually, Magnesium Stearate is used together with polycarboxylic acid. 

How is Magnesium Stearate used in gluten free food?

Magnesium Stearate is widely used in to provide to . Magnesium Stearate is usually used in processed food rather than daily recipe.

Why should you go Gluten free?

Celiac disease: Celiac disease is an autoimmune disease that attacks the small intestine due to the presence of gluten, for which a gluten-free diet is the only medically-accepted treatment. In 2009 research showed between 0.5 and 1.0 percent of people in the US and UK are sensitive to gluten due to celiac disease. So people with Celiac disease have to stick to gluten free diet to avoid unexpected side effect caused by consumption of gluten.

Non-celiac gluten sensitivity: Some people may be sensitive to gluten but do not have celiac disease and feel better on a diet with less gluten. However, there are no specific symptoms confirmed. Non-celiac gluten sensitivity also drives more people to gluten free diet when people believe that they feel better when eating gluten free.

This application file is based on limited review of Foodchem International Corporation. Magnesium Stearate one of the popular food additives and ingredients in most countries, As a professional Magnesium Stearate suppliers, Foodchem International Corporation has been supplying and exporting Magnesium Stearate from China for almost 10 years, please be assured to buy Magnesium Stearate at Foodchem. Any inquiries and problems please feel free to send emails to us Email: Tel: +86-21-2206-3075.we will reply you within 1 working day.